Ys Origin Brings Falcom’s Classic Adventure To The Switch Today

Repel a demonic invasion in Ys Origin, now available on the Nintendo Switch eShop

Ys Origin

Falcom’s classic action RPG Ys Origin is now available on the Nintendo Switch eShop.

Published by DotEmu, Ys Origin is the prequel to Ys Books 1 & 2. It was first released on PC in 2006 and later ported to the PS4 and Xbox One in 2017 and 2018, respectively. Unlike other entries in the series, the game’s story is confined entirely to Darm Tower. Players control either the holy knight Yunica Tovah or sorcerer Hugo Fact, as they attempt to climb the tower in search of the world’s Goddesses to prevent a demonic invasion.

You can watch the game’s launch trailer below:

Kenny scored the Switch version a 4.5 out of 5 in his review, saying:

“I’ve said it already, and I’ll say it again; Ys Origin is an incredibly refreshing game. Featuring characters with incredibly diverse playstyles, simple-yet-challenging combat, and an unmistakably large amount of that tried-and-true Nihon Falcom polish, Ys Origin is not only a celebration of Ys, but of action RPGs as well.”

In case you missed it, you can find our full review of the game here.

Will you be adding this excellent addition to the Ys series to your Switch library? As always, we love to hear what you think. Be sure to let us know in the comments below.

Frank has been the caffeine-fueled evil overlord of HeyPoorPlayer since 2008. He speaks loudly and carries a big stick to keep the staff of the HPP madhouse in check. A collector of all things that blip and beep, he has an extensive collection of retro consoles and arcade machines crammed into his house. Currently playing: Chorus (XSX), Battlefield 2042 (XSX), Xeno Crisis (Neo Geo)

Join Our Discord!

Join Our Discord!

Click the icon above to join our Discord! Ask a Mod or staff member to make you a member to see all the channels.

Review Archives

  • 2023 (19)
  • 2022 (391)
  • 2021 (523)
  • 2020 (302)
  • 2019 (158)
  • 2018 (251)
  • 2017 (427)
  • 2016 (400)
  • 2015 (170)
  • 2014 (89)
  • 2013 (28)
  • 2012 (8)
  • 2011 (7)
  • 2010 (6)