Tim Schafer To Receive BAFTA Fellowship

Game Designer Tim Schafer to be Awarded BAFTA Fellowship

BAFTA (The British Academy of Film and Television Arts) announced today, 21st February that game designer Tim Schafer will be presented with the fellowship at this year’s British Academy Games Awards, in recognition of his creative contribution to the games industry. Schafer is known best for LucasArts’ Full Throttle, Day of the Tentacle and Grim Fandango, and more recently his work at Double Fine.

The Fellowship is the highest honour awarded by the academy for outstanding contribution to film, games or television. Previous Fellowships awarded for outstanding work in games include Rockstar Games, John Carmack, David Braben OBE, Peter Molyneux and Will Wright.

Chief Executive of BAFTA Amanda Berry has said of Schafer: “Tim Schafer is a true pioneer of game design, who has pushed the boundaries of the medium through his extraordinary talents. With a career spanning three decades, his diverse body of work includes some of the most iconic and best-loved adventure games, all characterised by his powerful storytelling and distinctive comedic writing style. We are honoured to be presenting him with the BAFTA Fellowship.”

The British Academy Games Awards will take place on Thursday 12th April at the Troxy, London. Nominations for other awards will be announced on Thursday 15th March. You can find out more about the BAFTA game awards at their website here.

Twenty-something journalist, based in both Helsinki, Finland and London, Britain. I'm mostly interested in RPGs, including Fantasy and Horror, but also write topical pieces on gaming culture. I live with my husband and our Australian Kelpie, Vernon.

Join Our Discord!

Join Our Discord!

Click the icon above to join our Discord! Ask a Mod or staff member to make you a member to see all the channels.

Review Archives

  • 2022 (295)
  • 2021 (523)
  • 2020 (302)
  • 2019 (158)
  • 2018 (251)
  • 2017 (427)
  • 2016 (400)
  • 2015 (170)
  • 2014 (89)
  • 2013 (28)
  • 2012 (8)
  • 2011 (7)
  • 2010 (6)