Valkyria Revolution to Launch in June

Valkyria Revolution will be fighting the good fight later this year

Valkyria Revolution 1

SEGA has officially announced today that Valkyria Revolution will be launching later this year in June.

The latest in the Valkyria series takes place in the beginnings of a revolution, with Jutland’s elite soldiers, the Vanargand once again taking up arms in order to take down the Ruzi Empire and stop the Valkyria. The Vanargand is well equipped to deal with Valkyria, boasting an impressive array of advanced mana weaponry as well as the ability to cast ragnite spells in order to stop the oncoming threat. Princess Ophelia, one of Jutland’s own royalty, has joined in combat this time around as, determined to do what she can in order to liberate those being oppressed by Ruzi’s tyrannical reign. Vanargand Commanding Officer Amleth Grønkjær, meanwhile, is holding a dark secret. Is his aim truly to support the country that he swore to protect? Only time will tell.

For a more detailed look at what Valkyria Revolution has to offer, check out the list of key features below:

  • A Brush with Death – Turning the tide of battle in Valkyria Revolution is Brunhilde, an ancient and powerful Valkyria, a fearsome being with near limitless power. She’s bound by oath to the enemy forces, and players will have to discover how to defeat the incarnation of death itself.
  • Prepare for Battle – Valkyria Revolution has a brand new battle system that mixes real-time combat and tactical strategy. Players can take control of the battlefield using brazen combos or cunning tactics. Finding a balance between them is the key to excelling in skirmishes.
  • The Ingenuity of War – Through adversity comes great engineering, and with a besieged homeland, players will be able to upgrade their existing weapons through branching customization paths with ragnite.
  • A New Painterly Look – Valkyria Revolution has a refined look thanks to the new GOUACHE rendering engine, giving the graphics a unique canvas texture.
  • Classic Composer – Valkyria Revolution has a vibrant and dramatic soundtrack by the incredibly talented composer Yasunori Mitsuda, who is known for his work on Chrono Trigger and Stella Glow.

Valkyria Revolution 2

SEGA has also confirmed the Valkyria Revolution Vanargand Edition for the Americas. Included with pre-orders and, for a limited time, launch copies of Revolution, the Vanargand Edition comes with a Vanargand Coat of Arms pin, a 12-track OST composed by Yasunori Mitsuda, and a special collector’s box. European pre-orders and launch versions of Revolution will come with the 12-track OST.

Valkyria Revolution is slated to release in the Americas on June 27, and in Europe on June 30. Will you be taking up arms against the Ruzi Empire? Let us know in the comments below!

Starting out with nothing more than a Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Kenny has happily been gaming for almost his entire life. Easily-excitable and a bit on the chatty side, Kenny has always been eager to share gaming-related thoughts, opinions, and news with others and has been doing so on Hey Poor Player since 2014 and has previously worked with both PKMNcast and SCATcast. Although his taste in gaming spreads across a wide number of companies and consoles, Kenny holds a particular fondness for Nintendo handheld consoles. He is also very proud of his amiibo collection. You can also find him on Twitter @SuperBayleef talking about video games and general nonsense. Some of his favorite games include Tetris Attack, Pokémon Black Version 2, The World Ends With You, Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance, Yo-kai Watch, Donkey Kong Country 2, Super Smash Bros. for Nintendo 3DS, Kirby's Dreamland 3, Mega Man X, and Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia (among many others).

Join Our Discord!

Join Our Discord!

Click the icon above to join our Discord! Ask a Mod or staff member to make you a member to see all the channels.

Review Archives

  • 2022 (188)
  • 2021 (523)
  • 2020 (302)
  • 2019 (158)
  • 2018 (251)
  • 2017 (427)
  • 2016 (400)
  • 2015 (170)
  • 2014 (89)
  • 2013 (28)
  • 2012 (8)
  • 2011 (7)
  • 2010 (6)